Many To Many Relationship With Same Model

Hi,

I'm a newbie in Yii framework. I just got stuck in a relationship problem please help me to solve it. Problem is described below.

Relationship is actually with the same model. I have an [b]Employee[/b] model. Usually a company will have only one manager per employee. But in this case there may be more than one manager per employee. He also will be another [b]Employee[/b] only who may or may not have one or more managers again. 

So I need to define [b]Many-to-Many[/b] relationship for [b]Employee[/b] model with itself. How can I achieve that. I googled a lot, but didn't find any proper solution. 

Hope you understand the problem. Please help me ASAP. 

Thank you

Prashanth

Hi Prashanth,

person

id

name

employee_manager

employee_id ... FK to person.id

manager_id  ... FK to person.id

// Person.php

'managers'  => array(self::MANY_MANY, 'Person', 'employee_manager(employee_id, manager_id)'),

'employees' => array(self::MANY_MANY, 'Person', 'employee_manager(manager_id, employee_id)'),

I changed ‘Employee’ to ‘Person’ in order to clarify the wording, because employee can have many employees.

The point is that you can create a bridge table that defines the relations between 2 persons: one is employee and the other is manager. And the Person model has 2 relations: employees and managers.

By doing this you can retrieve the managers and the employees of one person.

$person = Person::model()->findByPk($id);

foreach($person->managers as $manager)

echo $person->name . " has manager named " . $manager->name . "\n";

foreach($person->employees as $employee)

echo $person->name . " has employee named " . $employee->name . "\n";

Hi softark,

Below given is my implementation. Can you please check it and confirm.

employee

id

name

subordinate_manager

subordinate_id

manager_id

// Employee.php

'managers' => array(self::MANY_MANY, 'Employee', 'subordinate_manager(subordinate_id, manager_id)'),