Php, Yii And Ror

Hi guys,

I’ve been a PHP developer (Paid. No longer just hobbying) for the past 2.5 years. Been learning for much longer. I also love reading about the development and anything tech related.

Recently, I’ve noticed that the general consensus around the internet is that PHP is on it’s way out and Ruby with it’s RoR framework is the new fad.Wait, before you go bashing on me. I FULLY UNDERSTAND that most of the known web is PHP based and PHP is not going anywhere for a long time. :D I’m well aware.

I’ve recently began working on a side project that I have big plans for and is going on well. So far, so good. It’s being developed with Yii, my absolute favorite PHP framework. I’m fairly comfortable with Yii and I am learning everyday.

However, the thoughts of other PHP frameworks and the ever-elitist RoR are always creeping in. I keep thinking that I should learn to develop with RoR as it is the current ‘trend.’

I have tried RoR for a week. I saw nothing special about it. None of that "elegance" that everyone talks about. To be perfectly honest, I ***king love semicolons and curly braces. I feel they make writing code feel like writing code. Does that even make sense?

I just don’t want to feel like I’m lagging behind. The internet is full of lists of 10000 reasons why you should learn RoR and none of the points ever make me go, well, that’s a good point but they keep STRESSING that RoR is the way of the future.

Any advice?

Another point, I keep reading on the internet that Yii is one of the fastest performing framework, however, I don’t seem to find it to be as popular as the other frameworks. I struggled with this when I was first starting out coming from Codeigniter where the community is seemingly bigger and the documentation is the stuff of legends. I don’t have a problem with this anymore, I am just wondering out loud.