Yii Framework Forum: Yiibooster - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (16 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Yiibooster Make it gorgeous. Do it Fast. Rate Topic: ***** 6 Votes

#201 User is offline   eng.moh.abdellatif 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 25-December 12

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:17 PM

i dowloaded Yii Boilerplate but i donot knew where i have to but it... is it used instead of yii framework folder? or it must included in protected folder? i am confused about how to start because i am a new user in Yii i am come from codeigniter framwork because i found Yii is very powerful framework... any one can help me to how to start Yii Boilerplate
1

#202 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:24 PM

View Posteng.moh.abdellatif, on 07 January 2013 - 08:17 PM, said:

i dowloaded Yii Boilerplate but i donot knew where i have to but it... is it used instead of yii framework folder? or it must included in protected folder? i am confused about how to start because i am a new user in Yii i am come from codeigniter framwork because i found Yii is very powerful framework... any one can help me to how to start Yii Boilerplate


If you are not experienced with Yii, don't use the boilerplate code.

It's not targeted at Yii newcomers, not at all.

And that's why I'm not offering any help but this advice: learn to use Yii first, before attempting to use the boilerplate. It is advanced, and also assumed that you know what you're doing so that you can tailor it to suit your apps needs.


"Less noise - more signal"
0

#203 User is offline   eng.moh.abdellatif 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 25-December 12

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:10 PM

View Postjacmoe, on 07 January 2013 - 09:24 PM, said:

If you are not experienced with Yii, don't use the boilerplate code.

It's not targeted at Yii newcomers, not at all.

And that's why I'm not offering any help but this advice: learn to use Yii first, before attempting to use the boilerplate. It is advanced, and also assumed that you know what you're doing so that you can tailor it to suit your apps needs.

now i study Yii and i can make controllers, models, views and make crud and customize relations in models.
and i used bootstrap and a css framework(alon without Yii).
is it enough to start using Yii boilerplate?
0

#204 User is offline   Yii Dev Novato 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 18-October 11

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:29 AM

I'm starting to use it.
0

#205 User is offline   rorlandi 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 12

Posted 09 January 2013 - 01:04 PM

Hi, is there any way to force TbActiveForm elements to use label() instead of labelEx()? The purpose is to avoid to show "required" flag beside the input label in search forms and similar. Thanks in advance.
0

#206 User is offline   broker 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 04-February 12

Posted 10 January 2013 - 08:56 AM

YiiBoilerplate Bootstrap theme loads bootstrap.css twice, one from /css/bootstrap.css, other one from assets folder. Is it okey?
Posted Image
0

#207 User is offline   Antonio Ramirez 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 1,448
  • Joined: 04-October 10

Posted 10 January 2013 - 01:12 PM

View Postbroker, on 10 January 2013 - 08:56 AM, said:

YiiBoilerplate Bootstrap theme loads bootstrap.css twice, one from /css/bootstrap.css, other one from assets folder. Is it okey?


Nope, YiiBoilerplate actually needs to be reloaded but I do not have time at all... I have version 1.0.6 just lying on my computer and not able to even scratch my hair :(

Promise that if i have a couple of hours free will do... hopefully this weekend

EDIT: I want to also write a proper WIKI for you guys to understand the installation process of YiiBoilerplate
¿How long would it take for you to understand that you own nothing in this world?

www.ramirezcobos.com
www.2amigos.us
www.github.com/tonydspaniard
www.github.com/2amigos


Posted Image
1

#208 User is offline   Ghost_nsk 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 14-July 12

Posted 10 January 2013 - 03:43 PM

hello, everybody
I'm using TbSelect2, it's perfect, but when I write ajax option for this widget, it doesn't work, can you
write simple AJAX config for this widget plz?

here is my code (simpler version):
//view

$wConfig                        = array(
            'model'          => $model,
            'attribute'      => 'city_id',
            'asDropDownList' => 1,
            'options'        => array(
                'width'           => '100%',
                'tokenSeparators' => array(',', ' '),
                'closeOnSelect' => false,     
                'ajax' => array( // this config doesn't work - why?
                   'url' => Yii::app()->createUrl('ajax/City'),
                   'dataType'=>'json',
                   'data'=>'js:function(term,page) { return {q: term, page_limit: 3, page: page}; }',
                   'results'=>'js:function(data,page) { return {results: data}; }',
                ),
            ),
            'data'     => array(
                1             => 'Novosibirsk',
                2             => 'Omsk',
                3             => 'Kemerovo',
            ),
            'htmlOptions' => array(
                'id2' => 'city_id',
            ),
        );
        $this->widget('bootstrap.widgets.TbSelect2', $wConfig);

// ajaxController

public function actionCity() {
        $data = array(
            array(
                'id'   => 1,
                'text' => 'Moscow',
            ),
            array(
                'id'   => 2,
                'text' => 'New York',
            ),
        );
        echo CJSON::encode($data);
    }


0

#209 User is offline   broker 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 04-February 12

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:29 AM

View PostAntonio Ramirez, on 10 January 2013 - 01:12 PM, said:

Nope, YiiBoilerplate actually needs to be reloaded but I do not have time at all... I have version 1.0.6 just lying on my computer and not able to even scratch my hair :(

Promise that if i have a couple of hours free will do... hopefully this weekend

EDIT: I want to also write a proper WIKI for you guys to understand the installation process of YiiBoilerplate


I just actived the bootstrap theme, nothing else. I think it is not related with installation.
Posted Image
0

#210 User is offline   jmariani 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 12-January 12

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:39 AM

Hi.

Any incompatibilities detected between Yii 1.1.13 and YiiBooster 1.0.5?

Suddenly, the rows of a TbGrid show no data in columns (but the rows are displayed).

This is the HTML produced:

<tbody>
<tr class="odd">
<td>&nbsp;</td><td>&nbsp;</td><td>&nbsp;</td></tr>
</tbody>


Regards.
0

#211 User is offline   José Yovany 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 19-October 12
  • Location:Oaxaca, México

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:47 PM

Hi, I've been using YiiBooster, and I want to know if there is a way to load a form (Edit: the form has bootstrap widgets) via ajax into a dialog or modal without loosing the visual effects (CSS).

I tried the diferent options for renderPartial(...,false,true), and it seems to load the form properly but the main layout menu and styles are lost, some functionalities too, can someone tell me if I'm missing something??

... sorry for my english :D
0

#212 User is offline   jmariani 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 12-January 12

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:28 PM

View Postjmariani, on 11 January 2013 - 10:39 AM, said:

Hi.

Any incompatibilities detected between Yii 1.1.13 and YiiBooster 1.0.5?

Suddenly, the rows of a TbGrid show no data in columns (but the rows are displayed).

This is the HTML produced:

<tbody>
<tr class="odd">
<td>&nbsp;</td><td>&nbsp;</td><td>&nbsp;</td></tr>
</tbody>


Regards.


Ok. Not sure yet if it's an incompatibilty or not, but the issue is not happening with Yii 1.1.12/YiiBooster 1.0.5
0

#213 User is offline   johnsnails 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: 05-September 11
  • Location:Sydney Australia

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:43 PM

View Posteng.moh.abdellatif, on 07 January 2013 - 10:10 PM, said:

now i study Yii and i can make controllers, models, views and make crud and customize relations in models.
and i used bootstrap and a css framework(alon without Yii).
is it enough to start using Yii boilerplate?


It sounds to me like you know enough to use it.

I also found the instructions a bit confusing when I got started on the website.

Not having a go a Yiibooster it has made my boss love me like nothing else. Just the initial setup was a bit confusing.

I will assume you know how to create a new yii app though.

So inside the newly created Yii App go into the protected >> extentions folder and create another folder called 'bootstrap'

Inside there extract the contents of the zip when you visit this link.

https://github.com/c.../zipball/master

So your directory structure should look like the screenshot provided.

Although you will also have a filter folder tucked in there also.

beyond that you need to configuring it using the instructions found on the YiiBooster site

I think that is all you will need!

Attached File(s)


0

#214 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:57 PM

John, he's referring to YiiBoilerplate, not YiiBootstrap.

There's a difference. :)

The boilerplate is great, but it is a complete three tier application (frontend, backend and console) which is a great starting point, but only if you already know Yii basics (and quite a bit beyond that as a matter of fact).

YiiBootstrap is only a small part of what's included in YiiBoilerplate.

Confusing, I know. ;)
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#215 User is offline   johnsnails 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: 05-September 11
  • Location:Sydney Australia

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:33 AM

View Postjacmoe, on 11 January 2013 - 04:57 PM, said:

John, he's referring to YiiBoilerplate, not YiiBootstrap.

There's a difference. :)

The boilerplate is great, but it is a complete three tier application (frontend, backend and console) which is a great starting point, but only if you already know Yii basics (and quite a bit beyond that as a matter of fact).

YiiBootstrap is only a small part of what's included in YiiBoilerplate.

Confusing, I know. ;)



Ah k. My bad, in that case I agree with the original person who replied that they may not be ready.

Just assumed he was trying to get started perhaps not realizing that there was a difference (eg one deviates significantly from the default yii folder structure).

And one sits in the extension folder.

Cheers!
0

#216 User is offline   cquil 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 12-January 13

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:21 PM

I would just use yii-boost or yii-bootstrap. Above poster is right, Yii-boilerplate is set up 3 tier, its overkill for demo/resume fodder (I think the fact it says boilerplate is a bit misleading this is much more exstensive then just "boilerplate" bolted on).

If you plan on tinkering on your own box or vm box only that's one thing for yii-bp, but dont expect to migrate straight from dev to say shared hosting (godaddy, or other commercial hosts) to show off your hard earned understanding or your own small bizz without vps or full su rights on the prod machine (at least not without wanting to hang yourself first).

Loving Yii, started just this week, took 3 days for me to get everything good and proper from dev to shared hosting. Working on my first theme, got nice urls, mysql connection gii generated forms from db, and a few other goodies working! I haven't touched php in 5 years (so new to php5 :) ), had to work in perl the whole time :P.

Don't feel bad if its a little over your head, I've worked with multiple custom MVC perl frameworks for the last 5 years and a web dev for 10, but never worked at a shop that had the set up that the boilerplate setup is going for (even for a team of <3 devs it would be a bit over kill in my mind, let alone one, not ditracting its a damn nice organised setup).

Keep in mind you can always add/upgrade as you go and still keep things somewhat sane (modernizer, what have you). Version control will also really help keep things nice and clean as well, but I know how it feels, you want to start out in the benz first. :)
1

#217 User is offline   seobot 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • Location:Russia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:15 AM

Good afternoon. Tell me why booster brakes at ajax validation fields, as well as working with CGridView unlike yii-bootstrap?

In the booster - I choose the field and 2-3 seconds only comes the answer, valid value or not, when in yii-bootstrap is instant? Maybe where you probably need to register latency or not?
0

#218 User is offline   seobot 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 20-October 12
  • Location:Russia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:15 AM

Understood, if at design - then I realized how assets are copied every time, and if the mode production - all fast! Thank you! ;)
0

#219 User is offline   bas_vdl 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 215
  • Joined: 01-April 09

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:48 PM

How to use the initSelection to fill the box with values from the database.

For example tags that already belongs to the item.

View
<?php $this->widget('bootstrap.widgets.TbSelect2', array(
	'asDropDownList' => false,
	'model' => $model,
	'attribute' => 'tagIds',
	'options' => array(
		'placeholder' => 'tags',
		'width' => '40%',
		'tokenSeparators' => array(',', ' '),
		'multiple'=>true,
		'maximumSelectionSize'=>4,
		'ajax'=>array(
			'url'=>Yii::app()->createUrl('/tag/suggesttag'),
			'dataType'=>'json',
			'data'=>'js:function(term,page){return{q: term, limit: 10};}',
			'results'=>'js:function(data,page){ return {results: data.tags}; }',
		)
	)
)); ?>

1

#220 User is offline   IAmSalnikov 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 12
  • Location:Arkhangelsk, Russia

Posted 16 January 2013 - 01:43 AM

Thanks
0

Share this topic:


  • (16 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users