Rbam

okay, i’m kind of new with all this yii (i almost finished the book “agile web…”, but i skipped some parts of it).

At the moment i’m developing my first website with yii and i want some roles. So i decided to download the extension “rbam” since the book advised me to download an extension instead of creating a rbac system my self.

i’ve now downloaded and implemented the system, and for the most part i understand it. there are however two things i don’t understand.

1. i don’t understand how this rbam works without making any input in my database. I mean, how does it save the information that says the user with the id of 37 will be appointed editor instead of authenticated user, without putting this in a database?

2. i know the thing with roles, but i don’t understand the concept of tasks and operations. i can see that it follows the parent/child concept, but how does my web application know that a certain operation belongs to a feature in my application?

• Deram

A guess for the second question is that the operation name is the same as controllerID:actionID

please correct me if i’m wrong

To the best of my knowledge you are wrong and indeed the saving of the permissions table is done against the DB, unless serious extending/modification has been done on your behalf on the RBAM extension, which is something I tend to assume even less :)

How did you come to the conclusion that no DB activity is going on?

Maybe the RBAM created the (3) needed tables for you.

Shed some light here with extra information so we could further assist.

That’s a tricky one, I must admit, and it took me some research to come to conclusions back when I dived into RBAC/Yii.

I’ve sum’ed it up in a forum post where my questions were raised. See it all right here.

thanks for your reply.