What are modules for ??? confused.

[size="4"]Hi all,

i am bit confused with what modules does in yii ??

i need to develop a back end system which has 3 user levels… (admin, user, superAdmin)

my question is, do we need to have separate controllers ? for each user as AdminController, UserController and SuperAdminController inside the normal Controller folder or…

i will have to create separate folders for each user and direct them to there or i will create modules for each user… i am very confused of how to handle this matter…

i am new to yii and have been working on writing php from the scratch… so normally how i do is, inside the website folder… i will have a admin folder (which is the backend) so when a user logs in i will send him there inside admin’s folder…

so i am confused of how to accomplish that task with yii ? is there any inbuilt way or any extension.

please give your suggestions… bit urgent… thanks[/size]

anyone there to help me

From the definitive Yii Guide:

"A module is a self-contained software unit that consists of models, views, controllers and other supporting components. In many aspects, a module resembles to an application. The main difference is that a module cannot be deployed alone and it must reside inside of an application. Users can access the controllers in a module like they do with normal application controllers."

So for your admin area, yeh you can create a module and then you can access the module like this:

index.php?r=admin/controller/action

For the users authorization part, read about the Yii’s RBAC, or can also implement a non-RBAC type authorization system.

appreciate this… many thanks…

[size="4"]btw, what you mean as non-RBAC ??[/size]

A non-rbac is an authorization system without RBAC :)

So in other words, you can implement authorization without using the Yii’s rbac structure, for instance, you may have a function like this:

public static function isMember()

{

return Yii::app()->user->role === User::MEMBER;

}