CGridView to display data from two tables?

I’m new to this yii framework…

I’d like to set up a CGridView. I’m looking to display data from 2 different tables in one view. The data is from a table called student, and another table called employee.

employee is refereed by student(reg_no)

student table

reg_no (primary key)

s_name

dept

f_name

employee table

e_no(primary key)

e_name

desig

salary

reg_no(foreign key)

I want to display the (reg_no,s_name,f_name) from student and (design,salary) from employee table in a single grid view, can anyone please give an idea or any tutorial,

I am assuming that:

1. Your CActiveRecord classes are called Student and Employee respectively.

2. The relations() function in your Employee class was properly defined. If it’s properly defined,

then you can reference the student-related info for a given instance of Employee using

$employee->student

Note: Gii will generate the relations() function perfectly, as long as you have created the foreign key correctly in your database.

Your view–using a CDataProvider comprised of Employee records–can then look something like this:

$this->widget('zii.widgets.grid.CGridView', 

array(

'id'=>'my-grid',

'dataProvider'=>$dataProvider,

'filter'=>$model,

'columns'=>array(

array('name'=>'student.reg_no',  'value'=>'$data->student->reg_no'),   // student id

array('name'=>'student.s_name',  'value'=>'$data->student->s_name'),   // student name

'salary'  // employee.salary

),

);

An aside. I find your column names confusing, and Yii’s active records make it so that prepending “e_” and “s_” is not needed.

Yii best practices advises you NOT to use prefixes in column names, and to name primary keys simply "id". (See http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/227/guidelines-for-good-schema-design/).

Following those practices, you would end up with much simpler column names, and no need for guesswork:

student

id

name

dept

first_name

employee

id

student_id

name

design

salary