Json and model relations

Greetings all,

I am new to Yii but starting to get the hang of it a l’il bit. I am building a small application. Rather than load a “flat” model like in the Gii-generated MVC, I’d like to load a model with all its children and let the user update the whole thing, rather than just parts of it.

For example, let’s say I have four tables: Company, Location, Contact, Contact Phone. A company can have multiple locations. A company can have multiple contacts. And a contact can have multiple phones. So for my update page, I want to load all the meta data for a single company, all its locations, all its contacts, and all its contacts’ phones. Hope that makes sense.

Now, from what I understand, I could theoretically do this with Yii OOB functionality. However, one thing I ran into is that it doesn’t appear I can use the CActiveForm field helpers for relational data. IOW, I can do something like $form->textField($model,‘company_name’), but I could not do something like $form->textField($model,‘contact->contact_name’) (within a loop or something). So the first question is, how can I include child data in the view’s form fields?