htmlspecialchars() error in grid display - newbie

I’m new to Yii/PHP etc. I inherited a project and I’m trying to make some minor changes to it. I’m getting the following error: htmlspecialchars() expects parameter 1 to be string, object given. I’m using Eclipse 20110218-0911 on Windows XP with Apache 2.2.

The call that is triggering the problem is:

<?php $this->widget(‘ExCGridView’, array(

'id'=&gt;'lesson-grid',

'dataProvider'=&gt;&#036;model-&gt;search(),	

'columns'=&gt;array(

'id',

'name',

'lessonType',

'sequence',

'lessonFile',

//	'gradeLevel',	

array('class' =&gt; 'CLinkColumn',

'label' =&gt; 'View',

'urlExpression'=&gt;'Yii::app()-&gt;createUrl(&quot;lesson/view&quot;,array(&quot;id&quot;=&gt;&#036;data-&gt;id))'

),

),

));

?>

The field that is triggering the problem is lessonType. This field references a foreign key in another table and I want the grid to display the corresponding text for the item. I haven’t changed the structure of this grid except to remove the gradelevel column which is also a foreign key.

This error message appears to be a rather generic error. Any thoughts? How would you recommend that I go about debugging this?

Here’s the stack:

Stack Trace

#0 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\web\helpers\CHtml.php(66): htmlspecialchars(LessonTypeBase, 3, "UTF-8")

#1 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\utils\CFormatter.php(125): CHtml::encode(LessonTypeBase)

#2 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\utils\CFormatter.php(102): CFormatter->formatText(LessonTypeBase)

#3 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\zii\widgets\grid\CDataColumn.php(135): CFormatter->format(LessonTypeBase, "text")

#4 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\zii\widgets\grid\CGridColumn.php(135): CDataColumn->renderDataCellContent(0, LessonSearch)

#5 + C:\Projects\BESP\BESP_yii\framework\zii\widgets\grid\CGridView.php(501): CGridColumn->renderDataCell(0)