Flash message issues

Hi all,

Looking for some help :) I’m very new to Yii so bear with me. One of the first things I have been trying to do is add “flash messages”. I guess this has been asked a million times before but I’ve had no luck after Googling/searching the forum.

I have read and implemented this: http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/21/how-to-work-with-flash-messages/

So in the controller I have

Yii::app()->user->setFlash('success', 'New customer added');

$this->redirect(array('customers/create'));

I added code to layouts -> main.php to look for (and print) flash messages but the message is not being displayed after the page redirects. Also tried adding code in the individual view but no change.

I have also added…

'autoUpdateFlash' => false

… to config -> main.php -> components but this has made no difference.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what could be causing the problem? Is there someone I am missing? Using 1.1.10.

Thanks.

There has to be some code to display the flash messages in your view, like this:

foreach(Yii::app()->user->getFlashes() as $key => $message) {

echo '<div class="flash-' . $key . '">' . $message . "</div>\n";

}

Check this http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/21/how-to-work-with-flash-messages/

Thanks for the reply but I have already covered both points in my original post if you care to read it again :)

Can you please post the code that is supposed to print out the flash messages?

Have tried the static code from the URL above:

<?php echo Yii::app()->user->getFlash('success'); ?>

And in layouts -> main.php also similar to what is shown in the URL above:

<?php

foreach(array('error', 'notice', 'success') as $key):

if(Yii::app()->user->hasFlash($key)):

echo '<div class="flash-' . $key . '">' . Yii::app()->user->getFlash($key) . '</div>';

endif;

endforeach;

?>

Thanks.

I have (maybe) the same problem.