Licence for non commercial

Hi guys !

I’m going to write a commercial product, (for non open source use), partially encrypted extensions and controllers (written by me), break i copyrights ?

My understanding is that Yii uses the BSD License and it is very commercial friendly, but I am not a licence expert.

http://www.yiiframework.com/license/

I’m not a lawyer!!!

Basically if you don’t release the code you don’t have to do anything. When you sell to a customer – inhouse you can create your own license and then just provide yii as is, with the bsd. If you go cloud – you are providing a service so licenses are not really an issue because you ate not really releasing code.

I’ve seen a few projects go with gpl for yii apps but I wonder if that is actually correct. GPL goes one way compared to BSD.

GPL projects your code but then there issues too.

You can legally create commercial software based on software with BSD license.

Of course!

But if im not mistaken, i can buy that bsd software and then sell it ti my customers. Cut the original coder out, too!

I think the important thing is that you retain the original licence on included software. So you have to keep the Yii licence but your extensions or anything that does not come with Yii can have a different licence. So any additional third party libs you might use needs to also retain their licence. Based on what I have read I think GPL3 is the only problem here where if you use a GPL3 lib the code that uses the lib also has to be GPL3 or if requested the code needs to be made available or something like that.

For commercial software that uses or includes open source software I would try to stick to BSD, MIT and Apache licences.

I don’t know how things change if modify the code of BSD licensed code. I think you can then re-licence it as your own as long as you recognise the original authors.