What is your development process for a new project?

Hi

I am new to Yii. I come from a Drupal background. I have done a lot of reading and played around with Yii and basically learnt how things work. So far I am loving Yii and I think it will be my new home for personal development work.

I am now looking to start a personal project using Yii. I have two goals with this project, learning and getting practical experience with Yii and to complete and use a project I have been considering doing for a while now.

It’s a rather large project and before I start I would like to hear about how others start and work on a new project. What the project is and does is not important to the discussion I am more looking to hear about actual general processes and steps different people follow.

I know commercial developers would normally include a step for things like quoting and cost. As this is a person project I will be skipping these kinds of steps but feel free to include them in your suggestions.

Additionally I am not including anything about using version control or test driven development.

This is sort of what I have come up with so far. Let me know what you think.

This is a very basic first attempt and I hope to expand it into a more detailed concept.

1. Define goals. Planning and research basic features and site sections. Set tasks and milestones

2. Setup development environment including Yii demo app

3. Planning basic/primary table structures

4. Use Yii Database Migration to create primary table structures

5. Using Gii to create table model and customize as needed

6. Create required views, crud operations and re-usable widgets as needed

7. Develop/Customize user access control as needed

8. Review and repeat from step 3/4 to 7 as required

9. Implement site design theme (could be done before 3.)

10.Test & review

For me planning is important but sometimes I get so caught up in the planning and research that I never get out the starting blocks.