$data vs other variables in views

Hi all,

I’m new to yii and working on my first project in parallel to all the tutorials (that’s how I learn). Here’s a question for you:

I have two tables, department and employee where department is in a HAS_MANY relationship to employee (and of course, therefore, employee is in a BELONGS_TO relationship to department). The PK for department is department_id. The PK for employee is employee_id and the FK department_id (department 1—>n employee).

What I want to have happen is for the department view/index to look something like this:

That is to say, I’d like all the relevant department information, followed in each case by a listing of all the employees.

Following the example here, I’ve managed to get what I want using something like this in the department _view view

<?php

//$models = Department::model()->findAll();  // lazy loading

$models = Department::model()->with('employees')->findAll(); // eager loading

foreach ($models as $model) : ?>

<div class="view">

<p>Department ID: <?php echo $model->department_id ?></p>

<p>Department Name: <?php echo $model->name ?></p>

<p>Location: <?php echo $model->location ?></p>

<p>Fax: <?php echo $model->fax ?></p>

<p>Employees: <?php foreach ($model->employees as $employee) {

echo $employee->employee_id .'</p>';

}?>

</div>

<?php endforeach ?>

The problem (or the less elegant part of this) is that this method means I seem to be ignoring the more elegant original system in the (automatically generated) _view view:

<div class="view">

<b><?php echo CHtml::encode($data->getAttributeLabel('department_id')); ?>:</b>

<?php echo CHtml::link(CHtml::encode($data->department_id), array('view', 'id'=>$data->department_id)); ?>

<br />

<b><?php echo CHtml::encode($data->getAttributeLabel('name')); ?>:</b>

<?php echo CHtml::encode($data->name); ?>

<br />

<b><?php echo CHtml::encode($data->getAttributeLabel('location')); ?>:</b>

<?php echo CHtml::encode($data->location); ?>

<br />