Yii Framework Forum: We are on Amazon EC2 - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

We are on Amazon EC2 Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,876
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:37 AM

*
POPULAR

yiiframework.com is now on Amazon EC2. Please let us know if you encounter any problem with our new server. Thanks.
6

#2 User is offline   PeRoChAk 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 578
  • Joined: 26-November 10
  • Location:Lahore, Pakistan

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:52 AM

Good....
Cheers
Perochak
Web Design - Logo Design - Application Development

My Blog | Forums Comparison
0

#3 User is offline   eval 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 25-November 08
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted 21 January 2012 - 07:00 AM

@qiang: Any chance to share the topology you're using? I'm mostly curious of the design in terms of scalability. Have you used any other Amazon services apart from EC2?

Regards,
John
0

#4 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,876
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 21 January 2012 - 11:05 AM

There's nothing special about this setup. It runs on a single EC2 big instance. I haven't thought about scalability of it because the instance can handle the workload easily.
0

#5 User is offline   Jaggi 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 05-September 11

Posted 21 January 2012 - 04:37 PM

Have you made changes on this server to fix the search timeout issue?
See my development site @ www.CodeTheInter.net (BETA)

Posted Image Posted Image

Quote

If you make it idiot proof, they'll build a better idiot
0

#6 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,342
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:13 PM

The search issue was caused by overload of the old server... it was fixed temporarily by adding more memory but still sometimes there was the need for the second click to get the results because of timeouts... but now on the new server all should be fine...
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

#7 User is offline   Jaggi 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 05-September 11

Posted 21 January 2012 - 06:59 PM

View Postmdomba, on 21 January 2012 - 05:13 PM, said:

The search issue was caused by overload of the old server... it was fixed temporarily by adding more memory but still sometimes there was the need for the second click to get the results because of timeouts... but now on the new server all should be fine...


Sounds like a plan, although if its still a issue you might want to look into my suggestion I made before about installing sphinx to handle the searching and indexing of the db.
See my development site @ www.CodeTheInter.net (BETA)

Posted Image Posted Image

Quote

If you make it idiot proof, they'll build a better idiot
0

#8 User is offline   huanito 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 21-November 10

Posted 22 January 2012 - 12:42 AM

Thanks everyone. Great job! :D
The site comes up really quickly, it is very snappy now.
Search also works really well, every time I've tried and is super fast.

For reference how much memory did the previous server have that was not enough?
0

#9 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,342
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 22 January 2012 - 03:14 AM

At first there was 2GB... but the system started to swap so Qiang added one more...

now on the new server there are 8GB and currently 3,5 are not used at all :D
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
1

#10 User is offline   Chief 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 27-September 11

Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:25 AM

Would you recommend Amazon EC2 service? I'm thinking of doing the same in the near future.
0

#11 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,876
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 23 January 2012 - 09:35 AM

Yes, I highly recommend it. It is especially suitable if you have a serious Web-based business and your want scalability as well as reliability. EC2 may not be as cheap as other ISPs, but I think its cost is justified.
0

#12 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 07 February 2012 - 10:06 AM

I didn't want to jump the gun, but now I can safely say that it made a big difference! Posted Image
The Yii site is fast and responsive. Thanks a lot.
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#13 User is offline   Mike 

  • Elite Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,013
  • Joined: 06-October 08
  • Location:Upper Palatinate

Posted 08 February 2012 - 02:29 AM

It seems like forum notification emails are not working right anymore: I'm not informed about new answers in topics i have posted to anymore. Is there some mail configuration missing?
0

#14 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,342
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 08 February 2012 - 03:32 AM

Mike it should work... I just got the notification for your post...

To see what is going on... check first when you are looking this topic if the button above say "stop watching topic" - that means that you should have got the notification for my post.

If that is OK and you did not get the notification, than it could be that the notification has got "trapped" with some anti spam measure...
Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

#15 User is offline   Mike 

  • Elite Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,013
  • Joined: 06-October 08
  • Location:Upper Palatinate

Posted 08 February 2012 - 03:38 AM

Seems to affect only older topics: I got a notification for this topic. But on other ones even though i see a "letter symbol" in the topic list (which usually indicates that i watch this topic), if i click on the topic, there's a button "Watch topic" now. So some subscriptions seem to get lost over time.

Anyway, not related to EC2...
0

#16 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,876
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:57 AM

It's caused by a forum which automatically prunes subscriptions for old posts. I just cleared this setting so that your subscription will not be pruned.
0

#17 User is offline   Mike 

  • Elite Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,013
  • Joined: 06-October 08
  • Location:Upper Palatinate

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:59 AM

Thanks Qiang!
0

#18 User is offline   Yang He 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 08-January 12

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:00 PM

Apparently Yiiframework.com is not accessible from Mainland China more often than not since it's on Amazon EC2, unless using VPN. I am on China Unicom's ADSL network in Beijing and my friends in other parts of China reported the same problem.
0

#19 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:11 PM

Well, tell your country to wake up and do something about it!
You can't live behind a great firewall forever.
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#20 User is offline   Y!! 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 978
  • Joined: 18-June 09

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:54 PM

On http://www.greatfirewallofchina.org one can test whether a site is blocked by the chinese firewall.

Quote

yiiframework.com

No servers were able to reach your site. This means that your site is most likely NOT accessible from within mainland China.


Is it possible to have an EC2 instance within china (I believe so)? Maybe that could solve the issue. Though maybe not the best solution. Is there is another option?
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users