Relational Databases

Ok, So I am new to MVC, and still getting the hang of OOP programming. (I come from a good old fashioned Turbo C++ background)

I am trying to use 3 tables:

Table 1: Store User data (id, name, email, etc.)

Table 2: Store Roles (Admin, user, sudo etc.)

Table 3: Store which user has which access rights. (similar to a lookup table, but not quite ;)

I know there are other ways of doing this, but once I have this down, I can use it with other things like invoice and quote and class lists all referencing and pointing to each others tables and info etc.

I have gone through the forums, I have gone through the blog demo and yii definitive guide, but alas, I am really struggling with the correct way of doing things!

My main problem at the moment is simply getting the data from 3 different tables at the same time while in either the views of User or in the background operations of things.

Any awesome advice??

Sounds to me like 2 things going on here.

1. You are trying to ‘roll your own’ permission scheme here. I would strongly suggest you read up on RBAC and accessControl filter in the Guide.

2. You need to review the model relations in the Guide and define the relations for the model of each table you mention. Once you do that you can access the related data easily.

Thanks for the reply!

1.) I will be converting to a much stronger version of access control later, I’m just trying to get the functionality up and running correctly for many_to_many relations so that I can use it in other parts of my program. Currently using user and role so that everybody can understand what I’m trying to achieve.

2.) I’ve tried various model relations, but nowhere does it show me a nice example of how to directly access the table data from different tables in 1 model.