When is it right to create a module for the application?

Hello Yii Developers,

I’ve got a simple question for you: Which criteria is to be taken into account when creating a module for the application?

There are lots of Yii tutorials that explain how to create and use a module, like this one: http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/1.1/en/basics.module , but I still don’t understand why would I create a module if I can develop the application with regular models, views and controllers. Please pardon my ignorance but I’m a newbie.

Could you please let me know with an example of a simple application (real life) in which you would rather add a module to it.

Thanks in advance!

Alejandro.

Modules are not a replacement for "real applications". Rather they are applications that do one specific task. A good example would be the an access control module . Access control is something you will need in many of your projects. If you put it into a module you can use that module in multiple places instead of writing a new access control for each and every project.

Create a module if you want to implement reusable code,

means that parts of your current project can be used in other projects too.

So you can add features to a project by installing/configure modules

(usermanagement, mailing, interfaces …)

Extensions are often implemented as modules if they use components/controllers/models.

For code that is only useful for a specific project, generating a modul is not necessary,

but can be helpful if you want to switch on/off or configure some features in the config/main.php

Besides reusability as cited above

It depends how you want to structure your application

I personally use it a lot when developing medium / large applications

Lets say you are creating a CMS

I would put the public content outside modules and the management area in a backend module