Dealing with null relation properties in CDetailView

Hello

I am new to Yii and quite rusty with my PHP in general. I have been setting up a Yii project, and while so far I have made some good progress, I am running into problems with null/none-existent relational data.

For example, say I have two tables:

Customer:

idcustomer

customer_name

fk_location

idlocation

office

Table Customer has a foreign key fk_location linked to idlocation on the Location table.

So far so simple.

Now, in Yii I have a relation called "location" set up under the Relations method in my Customer Model which correctly points to the Location table. Now, when a Customer record has a location, everything works great.

However, not all customers in the table will have a location [if it matters, location refers to offices within the building, not all customers are in the building]. Whenever my views try to display data that has a null foreign key, the views throw a wobbler since $model->location does not exist.

I thought I had found the answer when I saw a post on here saying the relations method supported a "createIfNull" option - apparently that person was wrong since it did nothing nor have I found any documentation on it.

So, in short, how would I modify this:

$this->widget('zii.widgets.CDetailView', array(

'data'=>$model,

'attributes'=>array(

'customer_name',

//...

array(

'label'=>'Location',

'type'=>'raw',

'value'=>CHtml::encode($model->location->office,

),

),

if a particular customer record has no location and therefore neither $model->location or $model->location->office exist.

I tried using CValidator::isEmpty, but it didn’t like being used from within the view file and I am not sure putting in a bunch of conditional code in the view file is the best way to sort this out.

Am I missing something really obvious, or is it assumed null foreign links are evil and no one would dare use them?