Creating a secure login system

Hi,

I am relatively new to Yii and web coding in general. I am however in the very preliminary stage of building a website. The majority of the work will be coded externally but I was hoping I could get some input so that I know what I need to ask of the coder. I am hugely concerned about security. I have had several websites hacked in the past and have also been the victim of massive amounts of spam registrations.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some secuirty guidelines for a custom built login and registration system using the Yii framework. I found some features of a rawphp login script, this seems to be pretty comprehensive but is there anything else which can be done to secure the login system. Are any of these already built into Yii?

Hi!

Interesting topic! I’m also quite new too Yii and also very concerned about security.

The list looks good. You might want to add:

• Temporary ban IP after X failed login attempts (unless you serve a big enterprise behind proxy)

• Use secure cookies (httpOnly) to prevent cookie stealing

Using the agent as component should not be considered secure as it can easily be spoofed, just as with IP. Using secure cookies prevents (injected) scripts from reading the cookie and thus stealing the SID.

Also, be sure the SID is changed for each http request for improved CSRF protection. You should also consider randomizing the cookie SID parameter name.

Thank you for your suggestions. I have read into httpOnly and that sounds like a great addition.

Well, let’s see…

• One way hashing using SHA1

I assume this is referring to password hashing. The current method of breaking MD5/SHA1 is feeding the hash to Google. Often falls into O(1). There are better ways to secure your passwords.

• Hardened random salts to hash login token, session id, sign up id and user agent

Sounds over-engineered. The above method will work just as fine.

• Brute force attack detection based on hashed login tokens