Yii Framework Forum: Rename YiiBase & Yii - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Rename YiiBase & Yii

#1 User is offline   CGeorge 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-May 10
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 October 2011 - 01:14 AM

I think that YiiBase & Yii names are not very representative (I got confused with this when I started with Yii)

I propose renaming them as SystemBase & System.
0

#2 User is offline   gbasto 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 28-September 10
  • Location:Portugal

Posted 07 October 2011 - 04:10 AM

I don't see reasons to do that. Yii and YiiBase it's good for me.
1

#3 User is offline   samdark 

  • Having fun
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 3,374
  • Joined: 17-January 09
  • Location:Russia

Posted 07 October 2011 - 09:48 AM

That's a matter of preference. No real reason to change these.
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook

Enjoying Yii? Star us at github: 1.1 and 2.0.
0

#4 User is offline   dckurushin 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: 16-March 11
  • Location:Israel

Posted 07 October 2011 - 09:49 AM

You can do it yourself...

extend Yii and call the class System :lol:
Actually if you go to the source code... Yii is blank class only extends YiiBase ;)
1

#5 User is offline   CGeorge 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-May 10
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 October 2011 - 01:01 PM

View Postdckurushin, on 07 October 2011 - 09:49 AM, said:

You can do it yourself...

extend Yii and call the class System :lol:
Actually if you go to the source code... Yii is blank class only extends YiiBase ;)




Yes, I know... I use "System" in my projects. Thanks anyway Posted Image
I proposed this with a matter of learning of Yii, not of preference... But it's right, simply I am sharing my custom improvements for Yii from my point of view Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   dckurushin 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: 16-March 11
  • Location:Israel

Posted 07 October 2011 - 03:40 PM

Actually if talking about that...

You must be sort of crazy if you want to use the long System...

I sometimes with it was calls Y or something... to type less :lol:

I can do it myself... but I want my app to be reusable... so I trying not to hack too much ::)

---

Actually samdark... maybe consider to short it even more?

I so glad that the translation is Yii::t , just love the short names...
0

#7 User is offline   CGeorge 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-May 10
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 October 2011 - 04:50 PM

View Postdckurushin, on 07 October 2011 - 03:40 PM, said:

You must be sort of crazy if you want to use the long System...

inmo It is more explicit than Yii. I really believe in self-explanatory code, and I pay attention to these details.
You shouldn't call "crazy" to the people that thinks different of you...

View Postdckurushin, on 07 October 2011 - 03:40 PM, said:

I can do it myself... but I want my app to be reusable... so I trying not to hack too much ::)

Sorry, I don't understand... Why is this a hack? Why is my app not reusable? Posted Image
0

#8 User is offline   dckurushin 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: 16-March 11
  • Location:Israel

Posted 07 October 2011 - 05:37 PM

don't take the "crazy" hard, it was said as a joke :lol:
0

#9 User is offline   CeBe 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: 16-July 10
  • Location:Berlin. Germany

Posted 19 December 2011 - 01:16 AM

View PostCGeorge, on 07 October 2011 - 04:50 PM, said:

Sorry, I don't understand... Why is this a hack? Why is my app not reusable? Posted Image


Not reusable because you can not take the code from the app that uses Y::app()->... to one where it is Yii::app()->...
1

#10 User is offline   CGeorge 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-May 10
  • Location:Spain

Posted 21 December 2011 - 05:35 AM

View PostCeBe, on 19 December 2011 - 01:16 AM, said:

Not reusable because you can not take the code from the app that uses Y::app()->... to one where it is Yii::app()->...

I use a custom project template for all my projects, with the following pattern:

View Postdckurushin, on 07 October 2011 - 09:49 AM, said:

extend Yii and call the class System

So in my projects I have no problem; but you're right, it wouldn't be reusable outside my projects.
0

#11 User is offline   Anbu 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 15-March 13

Posted 21 May 2013 - 07:35 AM

All of Cool..
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users