Complex relation table

Hey guys,

I’m new to yii, but have been dedicated on learning it properly for the last 2 weeks. I was wondering, how would be the proper way to handle relation tables which contains attributes. I’ve been searching around but couldn’t find much info about this situation specifically. I’ll give you an example.

I have three tables:

[indent]

[size="3"]orders[/size]

• id

• client_id

[size="3"]order_items[/size]

• id

• order_id

• product_id

• price

• amount

[size="3"]products[/size]

• id

• name

• price

[/indent]

So, [b]orders[/b] has a many to many relation to [b]products[/b] through [b]order_items[/b]. Now the question is:

When creating an Order the user will have to select Products, but, when I save the order, I want to create OrderItem and copy the value of price from the selected Product to the OrderItem. How would you do that?

Noone?

Something like this?

$item = new OrderItem;

$product = CActiveRecord::model('Product')->findByPk($user_submitted_item_id);

$item->price = $product->price;

$item->amount = $user_submitted_item_amount;

$item->save();

I’m not sure why you’re calling this a complex relationship, it’s really pretty simple :).

I was actually concerned about how to display the relation in the create form. Check this topic: http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php?/topic/24197-advanced-relation-widget-proposal/ I believe it explains it better.

It sounds like you’re asking for help with UI design and it looks like you have your ideas down on the other thread. I don’t know of anything exactly like what you’re describing, but it should be doable with a combination of something like CGridView and CListView with some jQuery mixed in.

Also doesn’t sound that different from a shopping cart in terms of what’s going on in the database. You could check out yiishop: http://www.yiiframework.com/extension/yiishop. Doesn’t look like it’s maintained though.