Few questions before I begin.

Hello,

I am new to yii (and frameworks in general for that matter) and have a few questions before I begin.

Question #1

I have been following along with a few videos that go over the initial setup for yii on a windows system and most of them talk about adding php.exe and the yii framework folders to your environmental variables paths in windows and my question is if this even necessary or not ?

As far as I can tell the only reason you would want to do this is so you do not have to type the full path names to php.exe and or your yii folders when creating a new app, is this correct or am I missing something ?

Question #2

The quick install guide mentions the following tip when installing yii on your system.

The question here is pretty obvious, which file do I need to keep in my web accessible directory to make yii work properly ?

Question #3

I will be doing all of my development on my local machine which is not accessible to the internet, does the tip above even apply to situations like these?

Question #4

What is the purpose of the yiic.bat file that is created every time you make a new skeleton app ?

I mean the yii/framework directory already has this file inside of it, so what is the reason you would need a copy of this file located in your apps directory as well.

Thanks,

Nos

It is not if you wont use command line

with command line its is possible to create applications, run command applications and more

index.php and if you will use prettyUrls .htaccess

any folder that you want to be acessible, like assets, css, js (assets folder is required)

Yep, localhost is the same of an internet host, the only difference is that is not accesible on the web (only if you want and with the right configuration)

yiic.bat comes with the Yii library and is the script required to run command line commands

Thanks for the reply but I think you misunderstood a couple of my questions so I will try to be more clear.

About Question #3