authentication for whole system

I am a newbie to Yii. I am currently developing a web application where users must login first in order to use our system. how can we guard this line so that whenever users are not loggedin or logout, they will be redirected to the login page?

thanks in advance

Please start with reading the Guide and in particular the Authentication and Authorization section. It contains everything you need to work out the answer.

Yea, thanks, I forgot to mention that I have read 90% of tutorials available on this site.

What’s the 10% you haven’t read?

you are kidding, right?

ok, may be let me say that I know how to guard for each controller because they have access rule. but I just don’t know how to guard for the whole system in one shot.

we woudn’t do it in all controllers right?

If you want to restrict authenticated/guest users from controller actions, you can do this by implementing the access control filter and specifying rules using the accessRules method of the controller.

You should not be implementing this as a system wide thing but on a per controller basis.

you mean "You should not be implementing this as a system wide thing but on a per controller basis."

I was thinking, if all controller extends from controller which extends Ccontroller, would that be possible to do anything in the Controller class, instead of doing the same in all its sub controllers.

sorry, that makes no sense to me. what do you mean exactly?

all controllers we create extend from the Controller class, which locates in the protected/component/Controller.php right?

what I mean is that instead of applying rules to sub controllers, like if user is not logged in,then redirect user to login page. why not just apply it to the parent Controller class. this way, we don’t need to do the same logic for sub controllers. hope this is clear…

first I agree with wk

please try to read tutorial on yii_guide. it provides rich tutorial to understand Newbie.