Yii certification

I’m a business owner and we use Yii for our development.

Currently there is a situation when some of my developers are working with Yii for more than a year, others - a few months. But this does not mean that the first ones know it better that the newbies. I think, it is evident for everyone here that knowledge is not always proportional to the experience. It is more about your attitude and learning.

So I am thinking of introducing some kind of certification that allows me to evaluate the knowledge of each developer and see his weak and strong areas and define the way for his improvement.

Is there any existing effort in this field? Does anyone else besides me need it? If so, any ideas, how this should be done?

I have a kind of a checklist for topics I would like to check, but I’d like to build some kind of global database where anyone could add questions, they could be moderated, approved and then tests are automatically created.

I’d be thankful for any thoughts.

Not a bad idea…

1 Like

hello,

the idea is great. but …

I remember when Obie F. tried to achieve a similar thing in the Rails community a few years ago, and the response was a huge NO.

see:

http://blog.obiefernandez.com/content/2009/02/rails-maturity-model.html

and

http://groups.google.com/group/rails-business/browse_thread/thread/e24cfda7947fda10

it might still work, though!

–iM

Don’t know about certification but this idea can work for ones who want to learn new things about Yii.

1 Like

My main interest is to evaluate my employees’ knowledge and understand better their weak areas. The approach taken for Yii can be applied to other areas. I think, the keys for any certification or in-house evaluation are high-quality questions and excellent framework for evaluation.