dependent dropdown

hi all,

i am new to yii.I have created 3 tables called society,block and flats.if i select society i should get respective blocks populated in block dropdown.my _form.php code

<div class="row">

<?php echo $form->labelEx($model,'block'); ?>

<?php

$block = new CDbCriteria;

$block->order = 'block_name ASC';

?>

<?php

echo $form->dropDownList($model,'block_name',CHtml::listData(block::model()->findAll($block),'id','block_name'),

array(

'ajax' => array(

'type' => 'POST',

'url' => CController::createUrl('Apartment/Dynamicblocks'),

'update' => '#block_name',

)

)

);

?>

<?php echo $form->error($model,'block_name'); ?>

</div>

my controller code:

public function actionDynamicblocks()

{

$data = apartment::model()->findAll('id=:sname',

array(':sname'=> $_POST['apartment']['sname']));

$data = CHtml::listData($data,'id','block_name');

foreach($data as $id => $value)

{

echo CHtml::tag('option',array('value' => $id),CHtml::encode($value),true);

}

}

i have place both these codes in flat controller and form files.

when i click on society dropdown and select a society i am not getting anything in the other dropdown.

please help me

thanks

ramakrishna

First of all I would suggest you to read this wiki - http://www.yiiframew…endent-dropdown

and to try to make working the example from the article… so that you get a bit of experience and that you get to know how this all works…

And there are many "dependent dropdown" threads in the forum try a bit to search for them…

As for your code… the first problem is that the first dropdown "block_name" is updating himself instead the second dropdown…

Than for your response.I have tried that but there is no effect of that function which i defined in controller when i call it from view.please help me

What have you tried:

did you read the article?

did you make the article example working?

did you search a bit the forum for other dependent dropdown examples?

hi all,