Controller Questions

Hi There

I’m new to Yii and MVC frameworks, but so far i’m enjyoying my Yii experience.

Currently as a test application to learn Yii i’m building myself a task manager which so far is working well. however i’m a little unsure as to whether i’m doing things correctly.

So the situation is that i have 3 tables, projects, jobs and tasks.

-> Project, which is the parent

-> Job , which is a child of project, can have many jobs for each project

-> Task, child of job, can have many tasks for each job.

In order to add a job they first have to select a project, then click "add job" and that will then add a job to the project.

likewise for a task, they need to choose a project, select a job, and then click "add task" that adds a task to the job.

Currently i have all my controller code in ProjectsController.php as they always need to have selected a project first before they can add a job. This is all working, however it strikes me that maybe the JobsController.php & TasksController.php should be handling the "Create" and "Update" calls when dealing with jobs and tasks.

Example code from my ProjectsController.php when adding a job to a project.

public function actionAddJob($id)

{

$project=$this->loadModel($id);

$jobs=$this->newJob($project);

$this->render('view/job/create',array(

'model'=>$project,

'jobs'=>$jobs,

));

}

and the newJob function

protected function newJob($project)

{

$jobs=new Jobs;

if(isset($_POST['ajax']) && $_POST['ajax']==='jobs-form')

{

echo CActiveForm::validate($jobs);

Yii::app()->end();

}

if(isset($_POST['Jobs']))

{

$jobs->attributes=$_POST['Jobs'];

if($project->addJob($jobs))

{

$this->redirect(array('viewjobs','id'=>$project->id));

}

}

return $jobs;

}

So the question is, is this the right way to do it, and if not what’s the best approach.

Hope that makes some sense :wink:

Thanks