On Yii and Forms

Hello!

I’ve been using yii for a couple of months (110 days to be exact) and I admire the flexibility the framework provides. I would choose yii any day of the week for it’s flexibility.

One of the aspects where I feel yii deviates from it’s flexible nature is form generation (or creation; where generation refers to automatic generation and creation implies manual creation of forms). As we all know, form generation, validation and handling is a redundant and time-consuming task and yii provides very convenient helpers and tools for this:

a) create them manually : This approach requires you to write the core markup of the form and use CActiveForm or it's derivatives to generate the widgets (which in turn calls CHtml), error messages, etc. Or you can use CHtml directly if no model interaction is required (or perhaps you decide to do that manually). This is by far the most flexible method but promotes redundancy.

b) use CForm, the yii form builder : CForm attempts to reduce redundancy by eliminating the markup from the development process. Thus, the developer simply defines the elements of a form as a multi-dimensional array and the class takes care of the rest (i.e. presentation, data loading and validation, post data presistence and submission handling). This method can be made just as flexible as CActiveForm since the individual components (as defined in the array) can be "broken apart" and displayed individually. This method reduces redudancy in exchange for loss of control over the markup (for e.g. if we want to style ALL the inputs in a certain way, we have two choices: 1) either extend CForm class and override the rendering methods (personally I think this is mind-bending and time-consuming process, I tried it three times before deciding to write my own form builder) 2) Use the form elements individually and change their markup in every view file - again promoting redundancy).