What Yii issues i should be aware of ?

Hi.

I’m new to the Yii framework ( digging through yii book right now ) and i have to learn it in really short time period. This is why i would like to ask Yii community for some heads-up on the problems i could encounter. I’m interested in problem and limitation of this framework, that i might run into.

P.S. : the book i mentioned is "Agile Web Application Development with Yii 1.1 and PHP5" ( amazon.com/gp/product/1847199585 ) , but the forum-hack prevented me from embedding it.

Be sure to visit the dedicated Book subforum - most questions are answered therein. :)

And if not: ask.

IMO, Yii is one of the most un-limiting PHP frameworks - but if you run into trouble, shout here.

It’s better to ask small, focused questions for quicker answers, of course.

Do read the official guide, the wiki and the linked to tutorials. They’re worth it.

In addition to the (excellent) book.

The sticky Known Issues topic in the Book subforum is a must read first. ;)

The biggest issue is probably the whole MVC business…

So may I suggest that you read this:

understanding-mvc/

Larry Ullman is great - be sure to check out his Yii tutorial series as well.

But do yourself a favor and grok the MVC stuff first.

That’s probably one of the biggest stumbling blocks when dealing with a MVC framework like Yii.

What did you mean with that ? Are you saying that Yii’s implementation of MVC is flawed and will be a problem ?

Quite the opposite! :lol:

No, what I’m saying (or trying to say) is that you will have a hard time getting into a MVC based framework like Yii if you don’t have a clear picture of what MVC is.

And what kind of rules it brings with it.

But, if you do have solid understanding of MVC, then learning Yii should be straight forward.

One example:

In Ruby on Rails, CakePHP and Yii you get an awful lot of directories with a lot of files in it, and that can be quite overwhelming.