Chapter 8: RBAC implementation

Hello,

I’m new to Yii, so I’m reading this great book. I have a question though.

Currently I’m finishing the 8th chapter (RBAC) and in the end of the chapter, the author shows how to make use of the RBAC in the adduser action, which is this:

$project = $this->loadModel();

if(!Yii::app()->user->checkAccess('createUser', array('project'=>$project)))

{

throw new CHttpException(403,'You are not authorized to per-form this action.');

}

Then the author says that the similar checks should be done before every action. Is this really the best way to implement the access filter? Shouldn’t we combine this with the accessRules() method? I have written the following accessRule:

array('allow',

'actions' => array('admin', 'delete', 'adduser'),

'expression' => array($this, 'isOwner'),

),

and it’s expression:

public function isOwner($user, $rule) {

$project = $this->loadModel(isset($_GET['id']) ? $_GET['id'] : null);

return $project->isUserInRole('owner');

}

which I think is more efficient than writing the same IFs in 3 different methods (actionAdmin, actionDelete and actionAdduser). Also, in the author’s approach, we are having two separate access filters and only the second is actually doing the actual work.

Please share your thoughts with me.

Kind regards,

Darwell

Darwell, in my humble opinion, it is way better to create your baseController class and implement the security check in the beforeAction method, thus, all your controllers which extend from baseController will inherit the permission checking and you won’t have to write lots of “ifs”

hope this be usefull

regards!

I think you have to be a little careful here, because the access check you are proposing is making an implicit assumption about the mapping of authorization permissions to specific roles, and this is really the responsibility of the RBAC hierarchy definitions themselves.