Using controllers withCTabView

Hi,

I am a newbie in YII and building my first application using it. I am using CTabView in my application and it works fine. Here’s a snippet of code i am using:

<?php

$user_detail = User::model()->findByAttributes(array(‘id’=>Yii::app()->user->id)); // User data

&#036;viewData = array

(  'user_detail'=&gt;&#036;user_detail

); 

&#036;Tabs  = array

(

'tab1'=&gt;array('title'=&gt;'Manage Account','view'=&gt;'/user/manageprofile'),

'tab2'=&gt;array('title'=&gt;'Edit My Preferences','view'=&gt;'/user/managepreferences'),

);

&#036;this-&gt;widget('CTabView', array('tabs'=&gt;&#036;Tabs, 'viewData'=&gt;&#036;viewData, 'activeTab'=&gt;'tab2')); 

?&gt;

But my issue is that tab system works fine if everything like writing logic, querying the database is done in the view itself, which is not good, for example for userpreferences i want to call controller action, write my logic there and render the view from there. But, i am unable to do this. If cTabView is for views specific tasks only, then do i need to write all the logic in the view itself?

I want to list user data in managepreferences view and want to update the data from controller istead of the view itself.

Please Suggest,

Kul.

You can pass data from the controller to the view, see http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/1.1/en/basics.view.

Yes, i can, but the issue is how to specify a controller for the tab view?

We can only specify view for that tab and not the controller.

Hope you are getting me!

I don’t know if I got it, but the view with the CTabView is called (via the render method) from a controller.

Maybe you want to have multiple controller/actions to render the multiple tabs in a CTabView. Is this correct?

Hello, I also have this problem - I want to call some controller actions, which have my business logic. I tried to do this using url:

‘Tab 1’=>array(

'title'=&gt;'View Client',

'url'=&gt;'?r=client/view&amp;id='.Yii::app()-&gt;user-&gt;getId(),

),