underscore and camelCase interchangeable in Yii?

Hi, I’m really new to Yii. I was just wondering if using this_style and thisStyle really matters to Yii when referring to AR attributes. For example, how come I can write:

$newProject=new Project;

$newProjectName = 'Test Project Creation';

$newProject->setAttributes(array(

'name' => $newProjectName,

'description' => 'This is a test for new project creation',

'createTime' => '2009-09-09 00:00:00',

'createUser' => '1',

'updateTime' => '2009-09-09 00:00:00',

'updateUser' => '1',

)

);

When the table columns are actually using underscores. (see snippet from fixture below) I’m kinda confused. Is Yii doing something automagically for me?

'project1'=>array(

'name' => 'Test Project 1',

'description' => 'This is test project 1',

'create_time' => '',

'create_user_id' => '',

'update_time' => '',

'update_user_id' => '',

),

I assume that it is not throwing an error as you are using the setAttributes method.

Please review the following code:

public function setAttributes($values,$safeOnly=true)

{

if(!is_array($values))

return;

$attributes=array_flip($safeOnly ? $this->getSafeAttributeNames() : $this->attributeNames());

foreach($values as $name=>$value)

{

if(isset($attributes[$name]))  // <--- checks for attribute

$this->$name=$value; // <--- if exists then set, nothing happens if doesnt exists

else if($safeOnly)

$this->onUnsafeAttribute($name,$value);

}

}

If you try to set the values using __set, __get from CComponent, then it will throw an error

// This is ok as update_time exists

$model->update_time = '2009-09-09 00:00:00';

// This will throw an error if table column is update_time

$model->updateTime = '2009-09-09 00:00:00';