Custom form elements in Yii views

Hi, I am new to Yii and I am trying to implement the following:

I am having a dropdown list that holds a hierarchical tree (using id/parentid and type=0 [navigation links]), what I want is to do a recursion on the dropdownlist elements so that it will display them in that order:

ROOT

1. ITEM 1

1.1 ITEM 1.1

1.2 ITEM 1.2

1.2.1 ITEM 1.2.1

1.3 ITEM 1.3

2. ITEM 2

2.1 ITEM 2

etc,

In classic php I am using a recursion to achieve that (most of my work is in plain hierarchy like this).

Also using the same hierarchical data, is it possible to make a custom form element, for example a div block that has overflow:auto to look like a multiple dropdownlist (only visually) but instead of actually choosing on select, to rended a checkbox or a radio next to it.

All of the above are implemented in plain php, I am only trying to find ways to do them in yii (using widgets? components? zii extensions? )

So, I was able create a widget that would emulate the hierarchy(sort of), just like I am making them with the traditional PHP.

Now I have another problem which probably lies in the relationships / criteria / parameters.

I have defined this on my Posts model, relations function:

'childs' => array(self::HAS_MANY,'Post','parentId'),

Now as I mentioned earlier I have a type field, which is: 0 for navlinks, 1 for post titles and 2 for the post body itself.

In my Posts model I also have this:

public function getChildren(array &$out,$level=0)

{

array_push($out,array(

"level"=>$level,

"id"=>$this->id,

"title"=>$this->content,

'isActive'=>$this->isActive,

"isType"=>$this->isType)

);

if ($this->childs)

{

foreach($this->childs as $child)

$child->getChildren(&$out, $level+1);

}

}

With the code above, I get all my hierarchy as a 2d array (1d is the index, 2d are the fields), so that I could feed it to CHtml::listData.

I am using this as a criteria:

$criteria = new CDbCriteria();