Web Application Structure Design in MVC

I am a beginner for Yii framework. The MVC design pattern sounds very impressive for people who don’t know much about web programming, like me.

While learning Yii, I am trying to figure how MVC can apply to other famous website I’ve seen, such as www.delicious.com.

Obviously, there is a gap between knowing MVC,Yii and capable of programming www.delicious.com.

Can you tell me how www.delicious.com is done in Yii MVC model? If Yii MVC model is capable of doing that. e.g.: Should each button be some kind of action of certain controller? what should be the controller?

Thank you very much!

Nicolas

Most of the time you just build your controller for a model (e.g. Post,Comment etc). And every action you can do is a action :)

So when you add a comment you have an create action in your comment controller.

Basicly every Webpage can be build as an MVC designed project. The MVC just help to organize the code better and makes it easier for other people to understand your code.

Hi Nicolas,

I would strongly advice you to take a look at basic Yii documents and resources like “Building a Blog System using Yii”, “The Definitive Guide to Yii” and “Take the Tour”. There you’ll find not only answers to most of your questions about MVC, but also concepts of how Yii is organized and works as good as basics to start developing your own application using this framework. Maybe not as big as delicious.com at the very beginning, but in the future… who knows, who knows… :]

Cheers,

Trejder

Thanks. Your feedback. I think the same way. But it’s the how part I couldn’t figure out.

I read the Guide and went through the tutorial already, but still feel a little bit short. Cheers!

Then continue to the next step, which is reading guide / watching screen cast of building blog application from scratch.

The first thing that you must do for every new product is: think about what you need(what the tool/site should do).

So for a site like delicious.