Yii Book - The testing

To the author Jeffrey Winesett :

Why would you introduce irrelevant content about testing in this book?

In chapter 3 and chapter 4, the testing part really confused me and made frustrated, because I couldn’t even get the P***, S***, PHPUnit installed correctly. Please stop using the command line tools, because all the command line tools almost all don’t work on my computer. They don’t work because there are multi level dependence exist. You failed to tell them all to me. It’s not because I am stupid, it’s because you didn’t provide enough materials for me to understand.

As a beginner, I expect this book to teach me one thing, that is Yii. All everything else, I really don’t want to learn, because my brain is not as big as yours! After I learned Yii, then I may want to explore things about testing…

By introducing a new tool or concept about testing, you increase the level of complexity by a whole new degree! I can’t handle that!

Perhaps the target audience of the Yii book is not the kind of people like you? IMHO installation details should not covered, leave them to tutorial sites. Also, get on Linux/MacOS, command line just works here.

what a nice first post! welcome!

nettrinity, let me disagree with you.

I think introducing testing in the context of learning yii, or any other framework for that matter, is a good choice.

Normally people use frameworks to develop software quicker but also more professionally (at least this is my case and a few more I happen to know). Learning to run tests, like learning a framework, brings you to the web dev field in a more professional manner.

I agree this is an option for the developer to choose but since testing is already nicely integrated with phpunit, learning to use it and getting the habit of it is, at least, reasonable. In addition to this, I see it as an opportunity to learn the practicalities of using phpunit within the already practical context described in the book to learn yii.