Changing DB dynamical

Hello there!

I have been tasked with setting up a easy-to-manage system where i can edit sites from different servers though 1 GUI.

This is going to be achrived by selecting which sites DB to connect to and edit the foreign DB directly.

So, I am very new to yii and would like to find out how i can change the db connection dynamically.

PS, I am a novice at yii, so please be explicit about where i need to do what.

PPS, this setup is ment to be able to use gii on the connections and the various databases have identical schemas with different content.

Thanks in advance Rasmus W

Wrong button. . …

In Yii protected/config/main.php

You can setup as many db connections as you want.

Then change the Gii so that you will have a selectable list of DBs.

I had the same question couple of days ago, and with the help of the forum I came to a solution that works OK for me.

In my case the database is selected upon login. As soon as the user is authenticated, the database is saved to the session

$session=app()->Yii::app()->getSession();

$session['dbid']=$connectionString;

Then I attached an "OnBeginRequest" event to my application and in that event I put

$session=app()->getSession();

if (!$session['dbid']) return;

$dbconfig = array(

'class'=>'CDbConnection',

'connectionString'=>$session['dbid'],

);

Yii::app()->setComponent('db',Yii::CreateComponent($dbconfig));

Hope this can lead you in the right direction.

Good luck!

Yep, i found that i could throw in some more database connections i main.php :)

And Emil, i am assuming your dbid is comming from the login form, am i right?

This would be an idea but i want to be even more dynamical =P.

I want a user to login and then have a dropdown menu which on selection alters the database connection to the selected db.

as it stands now i can get it to change db but i am unable to decide which db if there is more then one.