CGridView filters with CArrayDataProvider

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Yii and from what i’ve seen, i really like it.

In my application, i decided to use the CGridView to display a list with these columns :

English Word - French Word - German Word - word type - comments

Since my word table doesn’t have a column for each language (fortunately), I need to restructure the data after retrieving it from database. Therefore, I decided to use a CArrayDataProvider, since i can’t use ActiveDirectory.

I’ve succeeded to display the grid with the data, configuring the sorting, but i’m stuck with using the filters.

How i could do it?

Also, if anyone know that i could use ActiveRecord in my case, i’d glad to listen to him.

Thanks.

Query for retrieving data

$entries = Yii::app()->db->createCommand()

->select('e.id, w.label, l.code as languageCode, t.code as type, g.code as gender, e.comments')

->from('wordentry e')

->join('word w', 'w.wordentry_id = e.id')

->join('languages l', 'w.languages_id = l.id')

->join('wordgender g', 'w.wordgender_id = g.id')

->join('wordtype t', 'e.wordtype_id = t.id')

->where('e.users_id = :id', array(':id' => $this->_params['userId']))

->order('e.id')

->queryAll();

Hi Calvaria,

Welcome to the forum… The forum is full of posts regarding the same problem…

Here just an example: http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php?/topic/10514-cgridview-filter-control/page__p__51640__hl__CGridView#entry51640

I remember reading the forum quite extensively when i first started learning Yii. You will find most of the first arisen questions there for sure.

Again… bienvenido

I’ve already searched about filters in CGridView, but in my case, i can’t use ActiveRecord, since a row represent a multiple instance of a entity (word).