Yii Framework is very gogd but its documentation is very poor

i was searching information about the Yii framework but its documentation es very poor, maybe this change soon…XD

elaprendiz

What exactly do you miss? We are trying to improve it but we need feedback.

I think the documentation is very good actually. The one thing I would ask for is example implementations on each class page.

If you think that Yii documentation is poor you don’t know what is joomla, for example.

The class reference is very complete and clear, rely on it for any question.

I also think that Yii class reference is very complete and clear.

Maybe more examples is needed for beginner…

that’s the point. Im new to Frameworks and there could be more examples.

I would also appreciate more documentation about the connection to Databases especially how to handle

complex DB structures. More examples could help here.

Mostly i miss literature (books) from 3rd Partys you know there is just one yii book. That would help

beginners the most i think.

But for profesionnels the documentation is probably good and complete, but it leaks for examples especially for

beginners.

Yes: beginners (like me) needs more examples.

(Wow! I’ve written hundred posts!)

The documentation actually isn’t all that bad at all. The class reference is certainly excellent and there is sufficient info in the guide and wiki to get started pretty comfortably. There are of course certain areas that aren’t covered anywhere but for many of those you can find answers in the forums (or ask questions in the forums) or use the force and read the source. I think with Yii the community is sufficiently large now so lack of information on how to do something shouldn’t be an issue.

Coming from codeigniter it would be good to have an equivalent user guide.

Matt2012

That’s hardly possible since CI is much more lightweight solution: no AR, no cache drivers etc.