dependent dropdown

Hi all,

i’m new with yii - it looks really great.

I followed the cookbook to create dependent dropdown selects. Everthings works fine when creating new entries but the selects left their value when updating existing entries (using the standard crud actions). Existing values are not marked as selected.

Is there any common practice to handle this issue?

Kind regards

Tom

Some more explanation.

There is a hierarchy of 3 dropdown selects (company, project, order) and a bill should be created for one specific order. The bill model does only contain the order_id.

The first both selects (company and project) are created via

<?php echo CHtml::dropDownList('company_id','', CHtml::listData(Company::model()->findAll(), 'id', 'name')

the third one with

<?php echo $form->dropDownList($model,'order_id', array()); ?>

The form i used is CActiveForm.

As far as i’m new with yii: Is there a better way to doe this?

I remember this problem was already discussed on the forum… have you tried to search for this?

Hi, thanks for your reply. Yes, I found a few posts covering this szenario. But this posts does not contain a solution or hint how to handle the update.

1. Level: Company with id an name

2. Level: Project with id, company_id and name

3. Level: Order with id, project_id and name

To be created: Bill with id, project_id, …

The model “bill” only contains the project_id. I can’t use

$form->dropDownList($model, 'company_id' or 'project_id' 

because company_id and project_id are not part of the model. Using

echo CHtml::dropDownList('company_id'

i can populate data to the dropdown. But since there is no company_id in the model bill i have no idea on how to populate data when using the update / editAction.

Is is possible to use model relations to introduce "company_id" and "project_id" to the model bill? Is this the correct way to handle the szenario?

Thank you very much,

Tom

You can use a bit of CDbCriteria.

Ther first dropdown is free.