Pdf Generation Problem

Hi All…

This is my first project with Yii and may be thats the reason I keep on asking very simple and obvious problems… ;) but this time I got stuck with the pdf generation. I already have tried tcpdf extension but I am not satisfied with it at all.

The project in which I am working right now consists mainly of the reports and I want to have a create Pdf link on every page and on the click of that button I want to generate a pdf.

Most of my data is in tabular structure. One of the main problem is that in many reports there are a lot of columns and with tcpdf only a few columns are showing up in the generated page. Moreover the pdf generated has many flaws with the design itself.

I have spent lot of time toying with tcpdf extension but the results are not that satisfactory.

Is there any other feasible way of pdf generation???

I have googled about other ways too. One option that I came across was wkhtmltopdf and the other is dompdf.

Can anyone suggest which one is better

and are the results satisfactory???

Any help will be appreciated

Vatsal

I have the same problem and after one year it seems that there is no a correct solution to the pdf generation. Please let me know if you solved and how did you do it. Regards

We use princexml. Works pretty well. It doesn’t come cheap, though.

actually tcpdf is the way to go. i used it a lot in my web-apps and it is really features rich, robust and well documented library. no need to use the yii extension for this, which actually only wraps it around. just put the class in you components folder and you should be able to derive from it and implement your needed functionality.