saving passwords

Hi. I created a model ‘User’, which contains id,username,password. I want it to save the password hashed, so I created a public function ‘hashPassword’ for this. I created a ‘beforeSave’ public function ,in accordance to my understanding in the documentation, which will call the hashPassword before proceeding to saving. However, passwords are still saved as is.

Here are the details:

//User.php

public function hashPassword($password,$salt)

{

return md5($salt.$password);

}

//UserController.php

public function beforeSave()

{

if (parent::beforeSave())

{

if ($this->isNewRecord)

{

$this->password = User::hashPassword($this->password,'s0m3s@Lt');

}

return true;

}

}

Maybe my codes are incorrect,or I placed the functions in an incorrect file, or both…which is more likely.

I am a newbie, please make it simple for me :)

beforeSave() is a method of CActiveRecord - http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/api/1.1/CActiveRecord#beforeSave-detail

You put you function in the controller and that’s why it does not get called…

put it in user.php and it should work…

Also

call User::hashPassword() is incorrect

If beforeSave() and hashPassword are both in User.php than you call it with

$this->hashPassword(…)

Why? You have to turn strict error reporting in php.ini to have errors like this (calling statically a non static function) to be reported. But with default php.ini configuration, strict error reporting is turned off and above code should be executed without problems (although it is a bad idea to call like that non static function).

I agree that it’s incorrect to call a method statically if it isn’t declared static. Even though you don’t get any errors it doesn’t mean that the code is correct. Maybe it’s just me being a perfectionist. :)

Thank you guys for your help, the password saved is now hashed!

I am amazed how fast and accurate you guys respond :)

Where can I tag this post as solved? ;)