Yii Framework Forum: Opera 11 finally better than Firefox - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Opera 11 finally better than Firefox Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

Poll: Opera 11 finally better than Firefox (113 member(s) have cast votes)

What browser do you use?

  1. IE (2 votes [1.77%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 1.77%

  2. Chrome (44 votes [38.94%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 38.94%

  3. Firefox (47 votes [41.59%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 41.59%

  4. Opera (19 votes [16.81%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 16.81%

  5. Safari (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  6. Other (1 votes [0.88%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 0.88%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   Y!! 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 978
  • Joined: 18-June 09

Posted 24 November 2010 - 05:17 AM

I use Firefox almost since the beginning, but it became very bloated and seems to have major issues regarding memory management. Sometimes I can close all tabs and memory usage is still over 500mb and response times from clicks etc. become very huge. Only a restart helps in such a case (but that takes a while since Firefox needs like a minute to close...).

I've also used Opera 10 from time to time, but I felt some features/extensions are missing (mainly dev tools and adblocker) AND the diff-view on Google Code was messed up, but it's obviously fixed since 10.63. Now I tried version 11 Beta and it's just awesome! It's possible now to install/uninstall "real" extensions without restart. Overal performance is very good and (on the long run) much better than Firefox. Only cons for me are the lack of some good extension, but I guess they will come with time. Also the beta still has some small bugs, but they will probably dissapear in the final version.

What you think of Opera? You can try the beta here.
0

#2 User is offline   diggy 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: 18-November 09
  • Location:Ukraine, Khmelnitsky

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:09 AM

What dev extensions do you use?

You thought about create simple list with good extensions for development?

I use in firefox: httpfox, firebug, webdeveloper, adblock, and few others.
0

#3 User is offline   Mike 

  • Elite Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,013
  • Joined: 06-October 08
  • Location:Upper Palatinate

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:24 AM

Some of my friends tried Chrome some months ago. When i saw the very clean and lean UI i gave it a try, too, and was pretty impressed of all the onboard developer tools. A week later if found myself not starting up FF at all anymore (something i did every day for about ten years or so). :)

There are tons of addons and the Addon API is pretty cool (think of an addon as a "hidden" webpage with some js attached). There are some drawbacks though: There's nothing like the famous LiveHttpHeaders FF extension for Chrome. And the headers displayed in the developer tools are not the raw headers, but some filtered version of them (whoever made that decision Posted Image ). The source code view also always seems to reload the page, which is nasty, if the current page resulted e.g. from a POST operation. But you can at least inspect the current page elements, so this is not such a big deal.

All in all i like Chrome for its "reduce to the max" approach.

Never tried Opera though.
0

#4 User is offline   Y!! 

  • Advanced Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 978
  • Joined: 18-June 09

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:44 AM

@ diggy
Mainly it's about Firebug. Though Opera comes with a pretty good dev-console called Dragonfly, it's not as good as Firebug imo. But at least it's inbuild and faster. For now there are only 8 simple dev-tool extensions for Opera 11.

@ Mike
I have Chrome installed for developing/testing, but I don't really like it. Maybe too simple for me. :mellow:
0

#5 User is offline   samdark 

  • Having fun
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 3,428
  • Joined: 17-January 09
  • Location:Russia

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:29 AM

Using Opera for a long long time. Even remember times when it wasn't free. Opera 11 looks like a big step forward.
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook

Enjoying Yii? Star us at github: 1.1 and 2.0.
0

#6 User is offline   got 2 doodle 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 12-December 08
  • Location:Beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 24 November 2010 - 11:45 AM

FWIW I hated Chrome at first and I was a Firefox freak. However for probably the last four months I have been a convert to Chrome as my main browser.

I still open Firefox and often during development I will have Chrome and FF open and of course the devils tool(IE) ;) to monitor incompatibilities.

doodle
Check out myYii powered website
0

#7 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 24 November 2010 - 01:40 PM

Thanks for the heads up - I'll give Opera a go. :)

I don't like Chrome at all.
Tried to like it, but it just feels wrong.
And Firefox is getting bloated, that's for sure...

I have used Safari, and I like it, but I find it too polished. :P

I use IE (often), Firefox (always) and Chrome (sometimes), and Safari.

I'll give Opera a shout and report back.;)
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#8 User is offline   Antonio Ramirez 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 1,448
  • Joined: 04-October 10

Posted 24 November 2010 - 03:33 PM

Thanks for the share Y!!,

I have to say that I am a FF-Freak, but I do agree with you that, even in a Macosx, it have huge memory problems... you are right, it doesnt goes down of 500 MB and sometimes it even hangs but... I have yet not found a better tool that firebug or some of the extensions to debug, measure time loads, etc...

Yes, Chrome is ok, but not powerful enough... we *Neeeeed* to check HTTP headers, debug server and client values -no need for breakpoints (hated IE), manipulate CSS styles 'live' to see what the hell is happening with floats, variants or whatever our beloved browsers do with our cool designs...

I will give it a go... I did before when I was just programming in javascript due that its engine pre-compiled the scripts and they were flying as no-one has yet done.
¿How long would it take for you to understand that you own nothing in this world?

www.ramirezcobos.com
www.2amigos.us
www.github.com/tonydspaniard
www.github.com/2amigos


Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   Underk 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 24-November 10
  • Location:Canada

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:16 PM

Wow, I never used Opera, I will wait the final version and maybe I will give it a try :).

I was using firefox before and now I'm converted to Chrome because FF was too slow.

Thank's for the info !
0

#10 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 25 November 2010 - 07:08 AM

Downloaded it, tried it - and I am planning to stay. :D

And it feels faster.


Sort of like in the middle between Chrome and Firefox. I like that.

I noticed that it's got a much better inspection tool than Firebug pre-installed.

Which is a huge plus for webdevs like us.



Thumbs up, Y!! And thanks! :)
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#11 User is offline   got 2 doodle 

  • Standard Member
  • PipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 12-December 08
  • Location:Beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 25 November 2010 - 07:56 AM

It seems we have to specify (CSS3)border-radius in addition to mozilla and webkit border radius.
-moz-border-radius: 5px;
-webkit-border-radius: 5px;
border-radius: 5px;


Anyone know if there is a CSS way to get rounded corners in IE ?

Just answered my own question

Even Microsoft have promised, and demonstrated in their recent preview release, support for border-radius from Internet Explorer 9 onward (without prefix).

Maybe in a few years we can drop the -moz and -webkit prefix.

doodle
Check out myYii powered website
0

#12 User is offline   samdark 

  • Having fun
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 3,428
  • Joined: 17-January 09
  • Location:Russia

Posted 25 November 2010 - 06:59 PM

There is no CSS-way. Only hacks: http://css3pie.com/
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook

Enjoying Yii? Star us at github: 1.1 and 2.0.
0

#13 User is offline   ekerazha 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 525
  • Joined: 10-October 08
  • Location:European Union

Posted 26 November 2010 - 05:51 AM

I use Google Chrome because it starts faster and it looks nicer, but Firefox is better because Firefox extensions can hook deeper into the browser (NoScript, better AdBlock etc.). I'm going to switch back to Firefox when 4.0 final is released. Opera 11 extensions seem to be "lightweight" extensions like the Chrome ones. However, I use Opera on my mobile devices because the "Turbo" mode saves bandwidth and traffic.

This post has been edited by ekerazha: 26 November 2010 - 05:54 AM

Yii user #37
0

#14 User is offline   ciss 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 08-March 10
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 28 November 2010 - 08:20 AM

I use Opera for every-day browsing, research and IRC, Firefox for development and testing.
Currently i'm quite disappointed though, since Opera is frequently crashing on OS X, on two different systems. But the UI is still unmatched by other browsers in my opinion, so even this annoyance won't make me switch.
0

#15 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 29 November 2010 - 01:43 PM

I think I am going back to Firefox.
Don't like it when Opera inserts extra line breaks when I post to this forum. Posted Image
I have to go back and edit them out.

Do you have a trick? Or is this an IP board bug?
"Less noise - more signal"
0

#16 User is offline   junxiong 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 541
  • Joined: 21-June 10

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:15 PM

Currently using Opera for browsing and using Firefox for main browser in developing and testing project. Opera is cool, only the main drawback from it is its javascript things. Sometime the Opera is so different with the other browser, that I can't even use it on particular Web.

For example, I just can't sending email with attachment in Gmail with Opera, and also in Google site and Google doc, there are some missing feature. But I haven't tested Opera 11 yet, maybe it has done some improvement in its javascript??
“The most likely way for the world to be destroyed, most experts argue, is by accident. That’s where we come in; we’re computer professionals. We cause accidents.” - Nathaniel Borenstein

Yii Playground : Collaborative demo apps. You can join to improve it too!
My Team's Blog: In Indonesian.
0

#17 User is offline   Antonio Ramirez 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 1,448
  • Joined: 04-October 10

Posted 30 November 2010 - 11:04 AM

I am a bit dissapointed as some jquery plugins do not work on Opera 11, even though the plugins info state that they were tested on previous versions :(
¿How long would it take for you to understand that you own nothing in this world?

www.ramirezcobos.com
www.2amigos.us
www.github.com/tonydspaniard
www.github.com/2amigos


Posted Image
0

#18 User is offline   samdark 

  • Having fun
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 3,428
  • Joined: 17-January 09
  • Location:Russia

Posted 30 November 2010 - 12:50 PM

jacmoe
Posting this from Opera. No extra line breaks.
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook

Enjoying Yii? Star us at github: 1.1 and 2.0.
0

#19 User is offline   jacmoe 

  • Elite Member
  • Yii
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2,601
  • Joined: 10-October 10
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:26 PM

This is posted from Opera.

And it does indeed insert an extra break each time I press return.

That's not very cool.

I wonder what's so special about my Opera?

It's out-of-box Opera..

And now, when editing, it inserts an extra line break too..

Weirdness.

Safari, Firefox, IE - doesn't do that to me.


"Less noise - more signal"
0

#20 User is offline   samdark 

  • Having fun
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 3,428
  • Joined: 17-January 09
  • Location:Russia

Posted 02 December 2010 - 05:12 PM

That's really weird because
my Opera-not-so-special-edition
doesn't do that.

Try to clean up your cache / cookies. It may help.
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook

Enjoying Yii? Star us at github: 1.1 and 2.0.
0

Share this topic:


  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users