Yii Framework Forum: You tweak the code to fit your exact needs ? - Yii Framework Forum

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

You tweak the code to fit your exact needs ? Wording on news site's home page. Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Mike (UK) 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 01-August 10
  • Location:Exeter, UK

Posted 16 October 2010 - 06:06 AM

I like the new site and appreciate that a lot of effort will have gone into creating it. However, I am really unhappy about the line: "You tweak the code to fit your exact needs".

The previous draft published on the forum read:

A simple way to build fast, secure and professional Web applications.

1. Design and create the database;
2. Auto-generate the corresponding PHP code using Yii;
3. Tune up the generated code to fit for the actual requirements.

Even this, with the use of 'tune up', I thought a bit misleading, but changing it to 'tweak', well the politest thing I can say is that its disingenuous. The word tweak means - To adjust slightly; to fine-tune. Building sites with Yii is a lot more than this. What's more, nearly every serious visitor to the site will know this, so these words will simple undermine their confidence in what else is said.
0

#2 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,875
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 16 October 2010 - 07:49 AM

Agree with you. Could you help us think of some better words about this?
0

#3 User is offline   Mike (UK) 

  • Newbie
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 01-August 10
  • Location:Exeter, UK

Posted 16 October 2010 - 09:22 AM

Why not just say:

You extend the code to fit your exact needs.
0

#4 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,875
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 16 October 2010 - 02:28 PM

Fixed. Thanks for your suggestion.
0

#5 User is offline   betelgeuse 

  • Junior Member
  • Pip
  • Yii
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 99
  • Joined: 12-January 09

Posted 17 October 2010 - 11:55 AM

btw, there is a broken link at http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/ :

at the top light gray toolbar "demos" is pointing to doc/demos, it should be /demos
a code snippet says more than a thousand words
0

#6 User is offline   qiang 

  • Yii Project Lead
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 5,875
  • Joined: 04-October 08
  • Location:DC, USA

Posted 17 October 2010 - 02:01 PM

Thanks. Fixed.
0

#7 User is offline   Maurizio Domba Cerin 

  • Yii - Yesss It Is !!!
  • Yii
  • Group: Yii Dev Team
  • Posts: 4,340
  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 18 October 2010 - 01:18 AM

Curent text is:
  • You create the database;
  • Yii generates the base PHP code;
  • You customize the code to fit your exact needs.

I would suggest to remove "you", something like:
  • Create the database - or - Design and create the database
  • Generate the base PHP using Yii code generator
  • Customise the code to fit your exact needs

Find more about me.... btw. Do you know your WAN IP?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users