Redirection messes up output

I’m new to Yii. Right now I am using version 1.1.4 for a company project. Started to flesh an application from the skeleton the framework tool generates and borrowed some code from the “Blogs” demo, specifically the log-in page.

I defined my own CWebApplication-derived class, lets call it MyWebApp, located in /protected/MyWebApp.php; and then hooked it in on the index.php file at the application root. The purpose of extending CWebApplication is for redirecting any non-logged-in user, trying to access actions other than "site/login" or "site/error", to the log-in page.

Here’s the thing, if I type the address “http://localhost/mysite/” in the browser (Firefox 3.6.9) I get some strange behavior, inspected by the use of FireBug:

First, I get one 302 HTTP status with a response text "Failed to load source for: http://localhost/mysite/" with a Location header pointing to "http://localhost/mysite/index.php/site/login".

This is (kind of) expected, but the problem is that the next request to that redirection address, although it gets a 200 HTTP status, the page HTML code is returned twice from the server, i.e: the page starts with <html>, then comes the <head> and <body>, then the page ends with </html> and then it repeats all over again.

I checked the layouts, the view, the controller to see if there could be a duplicate call to $this->render(), but everything seems to be fine. And strange enough, once logged-in, when I click the "log-out" link, the process generates two redirections and the HTML output gets repeated thrice. Once again, the redirections are expected because this is the logic implemented: the "site/logout" action executes and redirects to the Yii::app()->homeUrl, MyWebApp hooks the beforeControllerAction method and redirects to "site/login".