Yiic problem in Ubuntu

Hi there! I already finished checking the requirements in yii and it was ok…

my problem is everytime i create a new application using this yiic command

bash yiic webapp demo

it gives me this error

yiic: line 2: ?php: No such file or directory

yiic: line 3: /bin: is a directory

yiic: line 4: base: command not found

yiic: line 5: base: command not found

yiic: line 6: base: command not found

yiic: line 7: base: command not found

yiic: line 8: syntax error near unexpected token `newline’

yiic: line 8: ` * @author Qiang Xue <qiang.xue@gmail.com>’

im a newbie in yiic and any help would be appreciated. Also I’m using Ubuntu 10.04, Mysql, Php 5 and Apache 2

Why did you add bash before your command?

I think you should type this :

./yiic webapp demo

im inside the framework folder and i typed that command… still it gives me an error message.

yiic: command not found

hi there!!

think you need to use this instead to install skeleton blog

first you need to get into your webroot by

cd /var/www <-- in my case

create a folder that you want your demo to be install in my case I create a folder named ‘blog’ under /var/www/yii/

then set permission to 777 by: sudo chmod 777

then type in the following command

php yii/framework/yiic.php webapp /var/www/yii/blog

if your php program has not been installed, the system will give you an install command then do it and come back to do the same.

then you can access your demo by http://localhost/yii/blog <— in my case

buknoii, did you solve your problem?

There’s no response from the topic creator whether the problem has been solved or not…

Anyway, for the sake of Ubuntu users and wanted to try Yii as their framework, here’s what I’ve done:

1. Extract your downloaded Yii pack to a web-accessible folder, let’s say the folder’s name YiiFramework.

2. Open your command line, and go to your web server’s document root, say MyWebroot.

$ cd MyWebroot