Weird "blank page"

I’m relatively new to Yii, been using it for a couple of weeks, and got used to it, but on occasion I get some error without any message to tell me what is wrong.

I have several models in my application so far and calling them like this…

ModelName::model()

…all works fine.

Anyway, now I’ve created another model, and even if I tried renaming it, I cannot seem to access it. Well, I don’t get the error that the model doesn’t exist, I just don’t get anything out, and anything after the line where I call it doesn’t execute.

Here’s exact lines of code…

print_r(GamesInProgress::model());

echo ‘a’;

die();

…needless to say, print_r doesn’t display anything, and echo never happens. If I rename my “GamesInProgress” and call some other model, everything works fine. In the code above, I don’t get the message that the model doesn’t exist, that php file doesn’t exist. I just see the last page I saw when I first got there (if this sentence seems confusing, in other words, if I comment print_r() line and see echo ‘a’ on the screen, and then uncomment it, I will still see ‘a’ on the screen). Otherwise, I get the message “remote server or file not found”.

I don’t know what to do or how to catch the error or display something. The model is pretty simple, a couple of integer fields is all there is in the table, and I created model with gii and all went well.

Not sure if i understand but did you also check Apache’s error logs? It could be that apache throws a “segmentation fault” (at least that’s what i occasionally see in cases like this).

Nope, no error in the Apache log file. It doesn’t even seem to call the static model() method for this class, and I can’t get any error message or anything telling me what is happening except getting the message like the page I am trying to refer doe not exist (but obviously does, because if I comment that line of code, it works fine).

Here is one more time what I do… this time literally.